What Are The Different Tiers Or Levels Of Sex Crimes In Louisiana?
In Louisiana, there are Tier One, Tier Two, and Tier Three sex offenses and those dealing with the registration period that one must register as a sex offender. A Tier One offense requires a 15-year registration period, which is conducted annually. The crimes that you have to register in Tier One for include sexual battery, intentional exposure to AIDS, felony carnal knowledge, indecent behavior with juveniles, prohibited sexual conduct between educator and student, crimes against nature, sexual abuse of an animal, contributing to the delinquency of juveniles, obscenity through solicitation of a minor, and video voyeurism of minors under the age of 16.
Tier Two offenses will require a 25-year registration period, which is conducted semiannually. Those crimes include sexual battery on a minor under 18 years of age, pornography involving molestation of a juvenile or a person with a physical or mental disability, computer-aided solicitation of a minor of prostitution under the age of 18, promoting prostitution when the prostitution is of a person under 18, enticing of a minor into prostitution, crimes against nature when the victim is under 18, aggravated crimes against nature, and operation of places of prostitution when the prostitution is of a person under 18.
Tier Three offenses are aggravated offenses and these require a lifetime registration period, which is conducted quarterly. These crimes include first-degree rape, aggravated rape, second-degree rape, forcible rape, third-degree rape, simple rape, sexual battery of a child under 13 years of age, second-degree sexual battery, aggravated kidnapping of a minor, second-degree kidnapping of a minor under 18, aggravated kidnapping of a child, simple kidnapping of a minor under 18, human trafficking, trafficking of children, trafficking of children for sexual purposes, purchase of commercial sexual activity from a person known to be 18 years of age or under, aggravated crimes against nature involving a prohibited relative as victim and involving sexual intercourse, and second-degree sexual battery or oral sexual battery.
Will Hiring An Attorney Beforehand In A Sex Crime Case Make Me Look Guilty?
You absolutely need to hire an attorney, if you are under investigation. The police are almost always going to want to make contact or get statements from a person who is under investigation. It’s never wise to talk to the police before you have an attorney to be present for you because even if you say things that you don’t think are incriminating, perhaps they may be, if taken out of context. Hiring an attorney will not make you seem guilty to the police; most of the time, they want an attorney to be involved.
What Are My Rights As A Defendant In a Sex Crime Case?
If you were arrested for a sex crime, you need to immediately contact an attorney. Your rights are just the same as those of anyone else who has been accused of a crime. You have a right to an attorney, the right to remain silent, and the right to alert someone that you’ve been placed in jail. Do not speak to any investigators, until you know your legal counsel is prepared for you to do so.
How Often Do Accusers Recant Allegations In a Sex Crime Case?
A lot of times, the alleged victim doesn’t want to pursue charges or tries to get the district attorney to drop the charges. That almost never works. Most district attorney’s offices have no-drop policies when it comes to sexual crimes or domestic abuse. That’s because the point of their position is to protect the victims, even if they don’t think they need protection and the public at large. They absolutely have the right to continue to proceed with the charges against you, even if the alleged victim doesn’t want them to.
For more information on Different Tiers Of Sex Crimes In Louisiana, a complementary strategy session is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (337) 243-7030 today.
Call For Complementary Strategy Session